• Hosting Trips
  • Posts
  • What the heck is a trip listing and why should I do it if I already have my own website?

What the heck is a trip listing and why should I do it if I already have my own website?

It's not what you're thinking

If you're already an outdoor host and I've invited you to list your trips in the past but you're still on the fence about listing your trip on Outerthere, I know what you're thinking:

  • Why should I list my trip on Outerthere if I have my own website or IG following?

  • Why should I send my audience to Outerthere so they can book other trips?

  • Why should I pay Outerthere a platform fee when I can keep 100% of my bookings?

Great questions. Here are my answers taken right out of my Host Accelerator Program presentation:

WHY LIST?

Your trips are a kind of inventory. And the best way to sell your inventory is to distribute them in as many places as possible.

30,000+ visitors go to Outerthere.com every year to discover amazing outdoor activities that they can book. You should definitely be in front of them!

YOUR AUDIENCE?

Your audience is already visiting Outerthere - yes, even the ones who will "only go out with you". They love trips like yours and are looking for yours to compare dates, prices and destinations with others.

So the more trips you list, the more you'll earn.

Best of all, they're providing benchmark data and other relevant feedback that can help improve what you make from your trips. For example, how does your trip rank vs. a similar one from another host and why? Wouldn't you like to know?

And contrary to what you may believe, your guests will continue to book your trips instead of anyone else's because they love your "secret sauce" and that resonates with them more than another host. There are no "competitors" on Outerthere. It's like fellow NYC host Jasmine of Hood Hikers says, "We're all in this together."

And as guests book your trips on Outerthere, they're encouraged to get their friends to book your trips, too, allowing you to grow your community from your trip listings on Outerthere.

It's true. My partner Anna and I are also a hosts on our platform and have been able to earn as much as $6k and $50k/year, respectively, as hosts. We've learned that some guests prefer her trips instead of mine or vice versa.

And we've also met guests who have been on your trips, too. Wouldn't you like to know what they've said? Suffice it to say, their feedback is the reason we've opened Outerthere up to other hosts. They want to see you on Outerthere, too!

And finally, let's talk about those fees...

WHY THE FEES?

If you're charging for your trips and using an ecommerce or other reservation platform to list your trips, you're already paying a platform fee.

But the way you're able to list your trips - Can you add-on transportation? Rental equipment? Lessons? - and the data you're getting does not help you grow your business because you're still missing that benchmarking data and insights. I know because I use other platforms for my trips, too.

Outerthere lists your trips the way they're meant to be presented, with Add-ons, all your original content and more. But you'll also get data, insights, host support and advice to help you grow your business and turn it into a real source of income like Anna and I have. (Anna also has a full-time day job).

But here's a key advantage Outerthere provides you that your current system doesn't: if you Add-On resources from Outerthere partners, you don't have to pay for those resources upfront or post-reservation!

That's right! Add-on that vehicle rental for no cash upfront. Your guests pay for it. And no platform fees are taken out of Add-on reservations.

So what is Outerthere's platform fee anyway? It's 25% per reservation, which is similar to what you're already paying if you're using SquareSpace, Wix, WordPress, Venmo, Airbnb, Eventbrite or Meetup. (It's 3% + some other hidden cut they don't conveniently reveal. I know because I use them all. Google it.)

And effective immediately, we're lowering our platform fee to 12.5% on your first 10 trip listings!

So, give it a shot. Let's get your first 10 trips onboarded this week or next.

Please schedule an intro or onboarding call on my Calendly here. It'll only take 20 minutes. But also, it would be great to catch up.

Join the conversation

or to participate.